Le Pot de Chambre: Sedan 1870, a new game on the battle that extinguished the Second French Empire.

Napoleon surrenders his army to Wilhelm & Bismark at sedan.

Hello fellow wargamers. My name is Ray and I'm an aspiring game designer currently playtesting a game on the battle that caused the fall of the second French empire. Most people have avoided examination of this game through a simulation because it is widely perceived that Sedan was a completely one sided contest, where 2 sophisticated and well led Prussian armies managed to completely encircle Sedan on August 31st 1870, one whole day before the battle even began.

This view is arguably not incorrect, there was a chaotic and astonishing breakdown in French command that led to no retreat orders being issued when several generals suspected the Prussians would easily encircle them post Beaumont had they spent a night resting men in Sedan. To make matters worse, General MacMahon who had just been put in charge of the army by Napoleon III the day before and did not favor a retreat towards Paris, was wounded in the first few hours of the battle leading to a conflict of command. General Durcot had assumed command on the spot and issued immediate orders for the army to start a retreat towards the west. This would have saved the last army of the 2nd French Empire as indeed the Prussians, not believing their eyes at the sight of resting French soldiers, split up into two armies and quickly set about surrounding the French.

Right when things seemed like the French had a chance to escape impending doom, general Wimpffen provided supposed proof of a commission that made him general in the event of MacMahon's demise. Wimpffen favored keeping the army at Sedan and fighting off whatever the Prussians threw at them, unconvinced the Prussians could so easily encircle the French. Wimpffen ending up winning out the command debate and set about setting defensive orders to the army which ultimately doomed them.