Me, I started playing on Day One and have never looked back!
Still play other games, but ASL is the primary

Views: 47

Replies to This Discussion

Don Chappell, a recently joined member here, was a Marine Captain at Camp Pendleton, serving in the 1st Marine Division headquarters (if I remember correctly). I was a first lieutenant at 1st Tank Battalion. In 1984 a few of us stood up the Camp Pendleton Conflict Simulations Club...and Squad Leader and its gamettes were always on the table. We were just getting the hang of G.I., Anvil of Victory, when Don convinced a number of us to help him playtest this thing called Advanced Squad Leader Rules and Beyond Valor. I still have all my playtest materials from those days. Don will no doubt remember this better than I do, but we went from a dozen or so SL players to about five or six playtesters who survived the first review of the rulebook. Imagine the ASL rulebook typed up and xeroxed...with about 14-28 pages of line-by-line errata that had to be "fixed" every so many months. In 1985 the rulebook and Beyond Valor hit the PX shelves...and life was never the same again. While I played Basic Squad Leader and some Cross of Iron from time to time, I could never muster the will to play any scenarios from Crescendo of Doom or G.I: Anvil of Victory. Don went on to be the national champion for ASL in 1986 before he left the Marine Corps.

I play a lot of other games. I supposed that will prevent me from ever getting really good at ASL, but that's okay. I still enjoy the game. When Red Barricades came out, that took the game to a whole new level and the HASL series are still my favorite ways to play, whether it's a scenario from the module or a campaign game.