Information

All things SPI

Dedicated to the old school game titles by SPI!

Members: 167
Latest Activity: Sep 21, 2020

Discussion Forum

SPI Games I So Much Wanted To Love (But Didn't) 13 Replies

Started by Eric Walters. Last reply by Steve May 21, 2020.

Breakthrough and Benchmark SPI Designs--Your Assessments? 14 Replies

Started by Eric Walters. Last reply by John Hitchens Apr 3, 2020.

Timeless SPI Games 41 Replies

Started by Eric Walters. Last reply by Charles Sutherland Jul 24, 2018.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of All things SPI to add comments!

Comment by Donald Johnson on August 30, 2020 at 11:02am

I agree it could be worded clearer, the rules give 2 different meanings to ZOC and so one needs to figure out which one they meant. If you think it may mean the ring of 6 hexes, then the question posed in the example arises. If you think it means a specific hex with a ZOC in it, then the question never arises. The authors of the rule thought it was clear as worded and that gives me the clue that they meant a hex with an EZOC in it versus the ring of 6 hexes around a unit.

Comment by Bill Clancy on August 30, 2020 at 7:15am

I think [6.8] is a little more subtle than forcing a soviet unit to stop.  It actually says "...units must stop if and when they enter an Enemy Zone of Control other than the one they left, similar to normal movement". In this instance the Soviet units are staying in the same unit's ZOC, but leaving the ZOC of a unit that they also started in (the 9-8). The rule isnt clear enough, although I am siding with the notion that this Overrun would be illegal.

Comment by Donald Johnson on August 29, 2020 at 3:35pm

I do not think so.

Rule 6.8 says the MUST stop if they enter an EZOC other than the one they left. In your example, they left a hex in an EZOC and immediately entered a hex in an EZOC, so they MUST stop.

Comment by Eric Walters on August 29, 2020 at 3:07pm

The way the rules are written, such a move would seem to be legal.  But one can't help but wonder if such a tactic was foreseen by the designer/developer.  It's not clear that a Soviet Breakout Move that involves moving from one hex in ZOC to another hex in the ZOC(s) of the same unit would cost anything more than the cost of the terrain; if it cost the same as German tactical disengagement (+3 MPs, a not unreasonable house rule), then it would cost 4 MPs to make the move to the first hex.  Even then, with a total movement allowance of 7, it could still execute the illustrated overrun at a cost of 3 additional MPs.

Comment by Bill Clancy on August 28, 2020 at 11:33pm

A question regarding Kharkov (S&T 68). The rules allow the Soviets to infiltrate the line [6.8] moving from one enemy controlled hex, directly into another enemy controlled hex. Does a reading of this rule, along with the Overrun rule, allow that a Soviet unit in one movement phase, can infiltrate the line, and then overrun the unit that it is "bypassing", as per the pic attached.

Comment by Otto Harkaman on March 30, 2020 at 4:20am

Thanks Christian, yes I will probably post here, I gave up on FB years ago.

Comment by Christian A. Strasser on March 29, 2020 at 10:15pm

Definitely alert them on FB, but post here as well, since it'll be easier to find :) 

Comment by Otto Harkaman on March 28, 2020 at 9:17pm

Thanks Bill :)

Comment by Bill Clancy on March 28, 2020 at 8:01pm

Hi Otto - you probably need to tell all the people in the SPI Group on Facebook (around 3,500 members in that group).  Its been over 4 years since anyone posted here!

Comment by Otto Harkaman on March 28, 2020 at 6:31pm

Currently working on a ZunTzu gamebox for SPI Fast Carriers, have the Coral Sea scenario setup. slowly working on the others. Hopefully soon have a Coral Sea after action report. Checkout my photos.

 

Members (167)

 
 
 

Help Center

Latest Activity

Donald J. HANle left a comment for Eric Walters
"Eric, Just saw your comment from last July.  Clearly I do not check this page often…"
7 hours ago
Kevin Duke left a comment for Eric Walters
"I'm with you. We actually hosted the "Team Squad Leader" tournament at Origins the…"
Thursday
Eric Walters left a comment for Kevin Duke
"Welcome to the CONSIMWORLD Social website, Kevin!  As you can see, we'll be undergoing a…"
Thursday
Eric Walters left a comment for Peter Gordon Rider
"Welcome to the CONSIMWORLD Social Website, Peter!  As you can see, we'll be undergoing a…"
Thursday
Profile IconKevin Duke and Peter Gordon Rider joined ConsimWorld
Thursday
Ian Schofield posted photos
Tuesday
Shannon commented on Brant Guillory's group Triangle Area (NC) Wargaming
"I am also playing mostly solo at the moment due to Covid. I very much enjoy Red Storm and Skies…"
Jan 11
Jamey Cribbs commented on Brant Guillory's group Triangle Area (NC) Wargaming
"Glad to hear you two are interested in doing some wargaming!  We will need to wait until the…"
Jan 11

Events

Members

CSW Related Links

© 2021   Created by John Kranz.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service