Just played Firefight 3 for the first time last night. I was Germans, my opponent the Soviets (duh). He went off to plan his hidden placements, leaving me to stare at the map in some dismay. Then I look at the two possible locations of the wounded Soviet general (the key victory condition), 4F10 or 4G09, and I start to ponder my mortar ranges and my setup boundary well to the south, across forest and three hills. I pull out a mapboard to use as a straight edge, and I start to check things. To me it looks like, according to the LOS and hills rules that something on 3F14 or maybe 3E13 can see both the buildings, way way away. So I set up my two 8cm mortar units just behind the hill crest (I think it was 3D13 and 3D15, with a space in between in case he could ever bring down off-board on me).
He comes to the board and goes "Huh" -- my units mostly in a neat line on the reverse slope, spaced against arty fire. We roll for initiative, I win. I activate one of the 8cm mortars, say I'm going to indirect fire on the house at 4F10, spend CAP to improve my chances, roll... and score a +4 above required to hit, resulting in an instant kill. "That's it, I win" I announce, to the shock of by my opponent and I. We spend the next 30-45 minutes researching online to see if we're interpreting the rules, but can't find anything that says no, and find an example on Boardgamegeek of someone who's done a similar positioning and it was ruled legal.
So, my question to the group: was this an unlikely victory, or an impossible (read: we messed up rules) one?
(I really hope it is the former--it makes a great story to tell that I won a wargame on the first move of the game.) :)